Get rid of the Recycle Bin warning


It’s funny how some of the things our computers do can be annoying or time-wasting, but we just go along and put up with it without really thinking about it.  I think subconsciously our brain is saying, “That’s just the way it works because it’s always been that way – just don’t think about it.”  But it doesn’t have to be that way!  Almost everything on your computer is configurable.  Today we’re going to make a little adjustment to the way the Recycle Bin works.

Recycle bin

Microsoft can sometimes go a little overboard on the warnings.  It seems like no matter what you try to do on the computer, there’s a little popup that asks, “Are you sure you want to do that?”.  These are necessary in some cases, but not for putting something in the Recycle Bin.

When you drag something to the Recycle Bin, or when you click to delete a file or a shortcut, you get this:

Recycle Bin warning

If you’re like me, you almost immediately click Yes and really don’t think too much about it.  That’s because 99.9% of the times you delete something, that is exactly what you wanted to do.

Let’s consider the worst-case scenario – what if you accidentally clicked to delete a file, and this warning didn’t come up so process went through.  Is your file gone forever?  Of course not.  To get it back, you just open the Recycle bin, find the file you just deleted, right-click on it, and choose “Restore”.  The file is then placed back where it was before you deleted it.

So, that warning is essentially useless and just means an extra click each time you delete a file.  Let’s get rid of it!

This is a really easy process:

1. Right-click on the Recycle Bin, and choose Properties:

Recycle Bin properties

2. UNcheck the box that says “Display delete confirmation dialogue”

Recycle bin warning

3. Click OK

Now you won’t have to do that extra click in between when you just want to delete something.

Note: this doesn’t apply to when you are deleting an email.  That’s because when you delete an email it doesn’t go into your computer’s Recycle Bin.

And as long as we’re tweaking the Recycle Bin, let’s go ahead and rename it “Trash”.  You don’t put your stuff in there to “recycle” them – they go there to be TRASHED.  So right-click on the icon, choose Rename, and type whatever name you want to call it.  Do it, you’ll feel better.

Recycle bin renamed

Share this post

3 comments Add your comment »

Get updates when new comments are added. Subscribe to the comments RSS Feed

Betty Lou Jones
November 26th, 2012

Thank you – now can you help us delete the pop-ups during the regular email reading?

Scott Johnson
November 26th, 2012

Hi Betty Lou – most popups are avoidable by one method or another. What kind of popups are you seeing? What is the content in the popup window?

mando Aldrovandi
November 26th, 2012

I thoroughly enjoy and find very useful most of your suggestions. I have been able to solve most of my mistakes by referring to your helpful hints. Thanks.